Gandalf the Grey

Download Full Image ( Card | Crop )
Show All Legalities >>
Brawl | Legal |
Commander | Legal |
Duel | Legal |
Gladiator | Legal |
Historic | Legal |
Legacy | Legal |
Modern | Legal |
Oathbreaker | Legal |
Penny | Legal |
Timeless | Legal |
Vintage | Legal |
Card Set | The Lord of the Rings: Tales of Middle-earth |
Card Type | Legendary Creature — Avatar Wizard |
Rarity | Rare |
Mana Cost | |
Card Stats | 3 / 4 |
Card Text | Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, choose one that hasn't been chosen — • You may tap or untap target permanent. • Gandalf deals 3 damage to each opponent. • Copy target instant or sorcery spell you control. You may choose new targets for the copy. • Put Gandalf on top of its owner's library. |
Card Number | #207 |
Artist | Aaron Miller |
Subtypes | Avatar , Wizard |
Supertypes | Legendary |
Card Languages | Chinese Simplified , English , French , German , Italian , Japanese , Portuguese (Brazil) , Spanish |
Frame Version | 2015 |
Border Color | Black |
EDHREC Rank | 6586 |
Has Foil? | Yes |
Reprint? | No |
Is Promo? | No |
Oversized? | No |
Joke Card? | No |
In Starter? | No |
Time Shifted? | No |
Show More >> |
Other Printings
Currently no one is offering this product for sale on mtgcardsbuy.com. Be the first by signing up as a vendor! |
Card Rulings
2023-06-16If the ability doesn't resolve (either for having its target become illegal or because a spell or ability counters it), the mode chosen for that instance of the ability still counts as being chosen.
2023-06-16It doesn't matter who has chosen any particular mode. For example, say you control Gandalf the Grey and have chosen the first two modes. If an opponent gains control of Gandalf the Grey, that player can choose only the third or fourth mode.
2023-06-16The phrase "that hasn't been chosen" refers only to that specific Gandalf the Grey. If Gandalf the Grey leaves the battlefield (possibly because of the fourth mode of its ability) and then returns to the battlefield later, it will be a new object with no memory of the modes chosen when it was last on the battlefield.
2023-06-16You choose the mode as the triggered ability goes on the stack. You can choose a mode that requires targets only if there are legal targets available.