Inspired Idea

Download Full Image ( Card | Crop )
Show All Legalities >>
Brawl | Legal |
Commander | Legal |
Duel | Legal |
Explorer | Legal |
Gladiator | Legal |
Historic | Legal |
Legacy | Legal |
Modern | Legal |
Oathbreaker | Legal |
Penny | Legal |
Pioneer | Legal |
Timeless | Legal |
Vintage | Legal |
Card Set | Innistrad: Crimson Vow |
Card Type | Sorcery |
Rarity | Rare |
Mana Cost | |
Card Text | Cleave (You may cast this spell for its cleave cost. If you do, remove the words in square brackets.) Draw three cards. [Your maximum hand size is reduced by three for the rest of the game.] |
Card Number | #360 |
Artist | Alix Branwyn |
Keywords | Cleave |
Card Languages | English , French , German , Japanese |
Frame Version | 2015 |
Border Color | Black |
EDHREC Rank | 19913 |
Has Foil? | Yes |
Reprint? | No |
Is Promo? | No |
Oversized? | No |
Joke Card? | No |
In Starter? | Yes |
Time Shifted? | No |
Show More >> |
Other Printings
Currently no one is offering this product for sale on mtgcardsbuy.com. Be the first by signing up as a vendor! |
Card Rulings
2021-11-19A cleave cost is an alternative cost that's paid instead of the spell's mana cost. Casting a spell for its cleave cost doesn't change the spell's mana value.
2021-11-19If a player has more cards in their hand than their maximum hand size during the cleanup step of that player's turn, that player discards until they have that many cards. A player's maximum hand size isn't checked at any time other than their own cleanup step.
2021-11-19If an effect allows you to “cast a spell without paying its mana cost,” you can't cast that spell for its cleave cost.
2021-11-19If multiple effects modify your hand size, apply them in timestamp order. For example, if you are affected by Null Profusion (an enchantment that sets a player's maximum hand size to two) and then resolve Inspired Idea without paying its cleave cost, your maximum hand size would be zero. However, if Null Profusion entered the battlefield after Inspired Idea resolved, your maximum hand size would be two.
2021-11-19If you cast a spell for its cleave cost, that spell doesn't have any of the text in square brackets while it's on the stack.
2021-11-19If you currently have no maximum hand size, then reducing your maximum hand size by three will have no effect. If the effect causing you to have no maximum hand size ends, Inspired Idea's effect will apply at that time.
2021-11-19You can't cast a spell for both its cleave cost and another alternative cost. For example, if an effect gives an Alchemist's Retrieval in your graveyard a flashback cost of , you can't cast it from your graveyard for its cleave cost.