Silvar, Devourer of the Free

Silvar, Devourer of the Free

View Cropped Image
Download Full Image ( Card | Crop )

Show All Legalities >>
Commander Legal
Duel Legal
Legacy Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Vintage Legal
Card Set Commander 2020
Card Type Legendary Creature — Cat Nightmare
Rarity   Mythic  
Mana Cost    
Card Stats 4 / 2
Card Text Partner with Trynn, Champion of Freedom (When this creature enters, target player may put Trynn into their hand from their library, then shuffle.)
Menace
Sacrifice a Human: Put a +1/+1 counter on Silvar. It gains indestructible until end of turn.
Card Number #15
Artist Jesper Ejsing
Subtypes Cat , Nightmare
Keywords Menace , Partner , Partner with
Supertypes Legendary
Card Languages English , French , German , Italian , Japanese , Portuguese (Brazil) , Russian , Spanish
Frame Version 2015
Border Color Black
EDHREC Rank 10995
Has Foil? Yes
Reprint? No
Is Promo? No
Oversized? No
Joke Card? No
In Starter? Yes
Time Shifted? No
Show More >>


Currently no one is offering this product for sale on mtgcardsbuy.com. Be the first by signing up as a vendor!

Card Rulings

2020-04-17

Note that the target player searches their library (which may be affected by effects such as that of Stranglehold) and that the card they find is revealed, even though these words aren't included in the ability's reminder text.

2020-04-17

Once the game begins, your two commanders are tracked separately. If you cast one, you won't have to pay an additional   the first time you cast the other. A player loses the game after having been dealt 21 damage from one of them, not from both of them combined. Command Beacon's effect puts one into your hand from the command zone, not both.

2020-04-17

The second ability represented by the "partner with [name]" keyword modifies the rules for deck construction in the Commander variant and has no function outside of that variant. If a legendary creature card with "partner with [name]" is designated as your commander, the named legendary creature card can also be designated as your commander.

2020-04-17

The triggered ability of the "partner with" keyword still triggers in a Commander game. If your other commander has somehow ended up in your library, you can find it. You can also target another player who might have that card in their library.

2020-04-17

Trynn's ability checks only whether you declared an attacking creature during the turn. It doesn't trigger once for each such creature, and it doesn't check whether any attacking creatures dealt damage.

2020-04-17

You can activate Silvar's last ability even if it already has indestructible. It'll still get a +1/+1 counter.

2020-04-17

"Partner with [name]" represents two abilities. The first is a triggered ability: "When this permanent enters the battlefield, target player may search their library for a card named [name], reveal it, put it into their hand, then shuffle their library."

2020-04-17

A creature with a "partner with" ability can't partner with any creature other than its designated partner. Losing a partner ability during the game doesn't cause either to cease to be your commander.

2020-04-17

Both commanders start in the command zone, and the remaining 98 cards of your deck are shuffled to become your library.

2020-04-17

If your Commander deck has two commanders, you can only include cards whose own color identities are also found in your commanders' combined color identities. If Haldan and Pako are your commanders, your deck may contain cards with blue, red, and/or green in their color identity, but not cards with white or black.