Whirlwind Denial

Download Full Image ( Card | Crop )
Show All Legalities >>
Brawl | Legal |
Commander | Legal |
Duel | Legal |
Explorer | Legal |
Gladiator | Legal |
Historic | Legal |
Legacy | Legal |
Modern | Legal |
Oathbreaker | Legal |
Pioneer | Legal |
Timeless | Legal |
Vintage | Legal |
Card Set | Strixhaven Mystical Archive |
Card Type | Instant |
Rarity | Uncommon |
Mana Cost | |
Card Text | For each spell and ability your opponents control, counter it unless its controller pays . |
Flavor Text | "If they try to storm your palace, you must become the storm." —*Handbook of Imperial Spellcraft* |
Card Number | #23 |
Artist | Anato Finnstark |
Card Languages | Chinese Simplified , Chinese Traditional , English , French , German , Italian , Japanese , Korean , Portuguese (Brazil) , Russian , Spanish |
Frame Version | 2015 |
Border Color | Borderless |
EDHREC Rank | 5810 |
Has Foil? | Yes |
Reprint? | Yes |
Is Promo? | No |
Oversized? | No |
Joke Card? | No |
In Starter? | Yes |
Time Shifted? | No |
Show More >> |
Other Printings
Currently no one is offering this product for sale on mtgcardsbuy.com. Be the first by signing up as a vendor! |
Card Rulings
2020-01-24Among abilities, only activated and triggered abilities use the stack. Activated abilities are written in the form "[Cost]: [Effect]." Triggered abilities use the word "when," "whenever," or "at." They're often written as "[Trigger condition], [effect]." Some keyword abilities are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder texts, and some keyword abilities are triggered abilities and will have "when," "whenever," or "at" in their reminder texts.
2020-01-24As Whirlwind Denial resolves, first the opponent whose turn it is (or, if it's your turn, the next opponent in turn order) chooses which spells and/or abilities to pay for, then pays that amount. Then each other opponent in turn order does the same. Then all spells and abilities that weren't paid for are countered at the same time.