Sleep of the Dead

Sleep of the Dead

View Cropped Image
Download Full Image ( Card | Crop )
Show All Legalities >>

Brawl Legal
Commander Legal
Duel Legal
Explorer Legal
Gladiator Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pauper Legal
Paupercommander Legal
Penny Legal
Pioneer Legal
Timeless Legal
Vintage Legal
Card Set Theros Beyond Death
Card Type Sorcery
Rarity   Common  
Mana Cost  
Card Text Tap target creature. It doesn't untap during its controller's next untap step.
Escape—  , Exile three other cards from your graveyard. (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its escape cost.)
Flavor Text Normally, a cerberus sleeps one head at a time.
Card Number #66
Artist Kari Christensen
Keywords Escape
Card Languages Chinese Simplified , Chinese Traditional , English , French , German , Italian , Japanese , Korean , Portuguese (Brazil) , Russian , Spanish
Frame Version 2015
Border Color Black
EDHREC Rank 18493
Has Foil? Yes
Reprint? No
Is Promo? No
Oversized? No
Joke Card? No
In Starter? No
Time Shifted? No
Show More >>
Currently no one is offering this product for sale on mtgcardsbuy.com. Be the first by signing up as a vendor!

Card Rulings

2020-01-24

After an escaped spell resolves, it returns to its owner's graveyard if it's not a permanent spell. If it is a permanent spell, it enters the battlefield and will return to its owner's graveyard if it dies later. Perhaps it will escape again—good underworld security is so hard to come by these days.

2020-01-24

Escape's permission doesn't change when you may cast the spell from your graveyard.

2020-01-24

If a card has multiple abilities giving you permission to cast it, such as two escape abilities or an escape ability and a flashback ability, you choose which one to apply. The others have no effect.

2020-01-24

If a card with escape is put into your graveyard during your turn, you'll be able to cast it right away if it's legal to do so, before an opponent can take any actions.

2020-01-24

If you cast a spell with its escape permission, you can't choose to apply any other alternative costs or to cast it without paying its mana cost. If it has any additional costs, you must pay those.

2020-01-24

Once you begin casting a spell with escape, it immediately moves to the stack. Players can't take any other actions until you're done casting the spell.

2020-01-24

Sleep of the Dead can target a creature that's already tapped. That creature won't untap during its controller's next untap step.

2020-01-24

To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you're paying (such as an escape cost), add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The mana value of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was and no matter whether an alternative cost was paid.